RGVFC Announce Roster Moves for the 2020 Season

Seven players from last season’s team will return for the 2020 USL Championship season

Photo credit: Cristian Inoferio/RGVFC

Edinburg, TX – Christmas seemed to have come early for RGVFC Toros fans this year as the club has announced their roster moves for the upcoming season earlier than expected. Last year we had to wait until coach Gerson Echeverry gave Down in the Valley the exclusivity of the roster moves back in January of this year.

The club announced that it had picked up the contract options of the following seven players for the 2020 season: FW Nico Lemoine, MF Kevin Rodriguez, DF Robert Coronado, MF Isidro Martinez, FW Juan Carlos Obregon, DF Andrew Samuels, and GK Ben Willis.

The club also announced that it had declined contract options on eight players: MF Andres Arcila, MF Héctor Copete, GK Nico Corti, DF Conor Donovan, MF Brad Dunwell, MF Romilio Hernandez, DF Sergio Mena, and DF Carlos Viveros

MF Deshane Beckford and FW Carlos Small‘s loan to the RGVFC Toros were also confirmed to be finalized. They will now return to Montego Bay United and Árabe Unido respectively to be notified of their future.

Eight players were declared out of contract at the end of the 2019 season: DF Kyle Adams, MF David Cabrera, DF Robert Castellanos, MF Jesus Enriquez, MF Victor Garza, DF Zach Jackson, FW Camilo Monroy and FW Aldo Quintanilla. According to the club, conversations with the club for a potential return in 2020 are ongoing for some of these players.

Do you agree with these decisions by the club?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: